Marta Bastianelli aiming for back-to-back victories at Gent-Wevelgem

30 March 2019

Take a look at the provisional start list

Since the introduction of the women’s Gent-Wevelgem in 2012, no single rider has succeeded in repeating her success in Flanders Fields. On Sunday 31 March, Marta Bastianelli will be looking to do just that, against a strong line up in which Jolien D’hoore, Amy Pieters and Lotta Lepistö are confirmed.

In 2019 European champion Marta Bastianelli will be defending her title in the colours of a new team: the Virtu Cycling Team. The provisional start list confirms that she will be supported by  Christina Siggaard, 2018 winner of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. To be the first ever female two-time winner in Wevelgem she will face up against a strong field at the race.

Last year, Amy Pieters - who came in fifth - was the best rider of the Dutch Boels Dolmans Cycling Team. This year she will be racing alongside Dutch champion Chantal Blaak, winner of Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. In 2016 Blaak came out best in Wevelgem, this year she will be joined by Belgian rider Jolien D’hoore, twice runner-up places in the last two years, who made the move across to the team this winter.

The new Trek-Segafredo, Team Sunweb and WNT-Rotor Pro Cycling teams will also be pulling out all the stops with former winners like Lotta Lepistö (2017), Floortje Mackaij (2015) and Kirsten Wild (2013) racing. CCC-Liv will be counting on the experience of Marianne Vos and South African champion Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio.

The women will start in Ypres on 31 March and will be competing with one another for victory on the Plugstreets and the Kemmelberg, on the same day as the men’s race. You can find the list of participants in the section " race".

  • Bilterijst © Bilterijst