Belgian and French wildcard teams battle it out in Gent-Wevelgem  

26 February 2020

There are 25 of them, the elite men’s teams ready to color the race on Sunday 29 March when the 82nd edition of Gent-Wevelgem in Flanders Fields takes place. All 19 UCI WorldTeams signed up to be at the start in the center of Ypres. They will be joined by 6 UCI ProTeams, four of them with a wildcard. These 25 teams then decide on the Vanackerestraat in Wevelgem who will be the successor of Alexander Kristoff.

UAE Team Emirates, the team of last year’s winner Alexander Kristoff is one of the 19 teams of the highest division, the UCI WorldTeams. Belgian squads Deceunick – Quick-Step and Lotto-Soudal, where former winner John Degenkolb (2014) signed this winter, will be there as will Team CCC of former winner Greg Van Avermaet (2018) and BORA-hansgrohe, the team of joint record holder Peter Sagan. They will all prepare for battle in the Moeren, on the Plugstreets and up the Kemmelberg.

The 19 UCI WorldTeams are joined by 6 UCI ProTeams. Total Direct Energie and Circus – Wanty Gobert already safeguarded their ticket at the end of the 2019 season through their position on the World ranking. Four other ProTeams are added with a wildcard to start their journey through the landscape of the Great War. Three of them hail from Belgium: Alpecin – Fenix, Bingoal – Wallonie Bruxelles and Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise and the fourth one comes from France: B&B Hotels - Vital Concept.

Gent-Wevelgem always has a high-quality start list to boast and that won’t change in 2020. The 25 teams will meet history on the course with its Plugstreets where the wind will play with the riders and their bikes. Those who are curious to know who will succeed Alexander Kristoff, will have to be patient. The detailed start list will be announced later.

Related news